Strolling down Kutchery road in the evening today, my eye was inexorably drawn towards the well known landmarks that we frequented most evenings of our 11th and 12th standard in school.
And I just had to stop for a burger, not at some hi-funda burger joint, rather an unassuming bakery a few buildings from our hallowed tuition centre (where we did everything but study!) The burger, our favourite hunger-satiating treat of those days was literally calling out to me, despite all my good intentions of keeping off junk food. This particular burger, the likes of which I haven’t seen anywhere else is a mélange of sauces, boiled channa, any available vegetable, coriander leaves, all stuffed between two slices of sweet bun, served on a newspaper page, with a flourish. But let me tell you, it’s perfectly delicious, this pot-luck mixture. And it did transport me right back to those days, whether it was good, old days or not is only a matter of perspective. Nostalgia is always sweeter.

Strolling down Kutchery road in the evening today, my eye was inexorably drawn towards the well known landmarks that we frequented most evenings of our 11th and 12th standard in school.

And I just had to stop for a burger, not at some hi-funda burger joint, rather an unassuming bakery a few buildings from our hallowed tuition centre (where we did everything but study!) The burger, our favourite hunger-satiating treat of those days was literally calling out to me, despite all my good intentions of keeping off junk food. This particular burger, the likes of which I haven’t seen anywhere else is a mélange of sauces, boiled channa, any available vegetable, coriander leaves, all stuffed between two slices of sweet bun, served on a newspaper page, with a flourish. But let me tell you, it’s perfectly delicious, this pot-luck mixture. And it did transport me right back to those days, whether it was the ‘good, old days’ or not is only a matter of perspective. Nostalgia is always sweeter.

