I’ve always wanted to be a dancer. There’s a joy in the movement of limbs to practically any music, even it is only to the beat of my own mind. Never mind how it seems to the people viewing it.
When I was younger, it was gay abandon that I energetically jigged to any random beat, throwing myself into the moment, quite literally. Sadly, it only lasted a few years till inhibitions hit, coupled with the hard realization that I’d been short-shifted my share of the so-called innate feminine grace characteristic of those born under the sign of the Fish. Suffice to say, ‘a bull in a china shop’ was not just a clichéd phrase when applied to me, just a fact of life. It took only a couple more failed attempts and a disastrous group performance at my school Annual Day to reinforce my belief that this would be just another unfulfilled dream.
Yet I always had a niggling tendency to tap my feet to a jingle, or nod my head in appreciation of a dance performance which served to remind me of my yearning. And occasionally I would lock myself up in a room, blast music and let go. There are a couple of highly embarrassing web-cam videos captured by my ever-so helpful friends when they happened to catch me in this act; but if there’s one thing college taught me, it’s to let go of my inhibitions in favour of having fun. [not completely, I’m not that crazy yet =) ] To the extent that, now whenever we have a DJ nite or even a college party, I’m one of the first dancers on the floor. That’s not to say that I’ve dramatically turned into grace personified, rather only that I’ve learnt to ignore my potential embarrassment and that has actually helped me look a lot less unfortunate when I’m trying to co-ordinate my motor movements.
Enthusiasm makes up for a lot, really. It led me to work up my courage to join a dance class, salsa at that and actually stick to it despite being reminded of my stiff and ungainly posture and what not ever so often. [Constructive criticism at it’s best!] It has paid off though – the occasional compliment, the sheer joy of a well-executed (passably) sequence of steps, of dancing in tandem with a partner [ even a stranger, maybe that helps, I don’t know], learning something new, no matter how awkward is really great. To top it all off, last class, this fresher told me that he was intimidated dancing with me because apparently I was very good at it. Wow. I hastily reassured him of practice making perfect, but inwardly I gloated. Repeatedly. 😀

I’ve always wanted to be a dancer. There’s a joy in the movement of limbs to practically any music, even it is only to the beat of my own mind. Never mind how it seems to the people viewing it.

When I was younger, it was gay abandon that I energetically jigged to any random beat, throwing myself into the moment, quite literally. Sadly, it only lasted a few years till inhibitions hit, coupled with the hard realization that I’d been short-shifted my share of the so-called innate feminine grace characteristic of those born under the sign of the Fish. Suffice to say, ‘a bull in a china shop’ was not just a clichéd phrase when applied to me, just a fact of life. It took only a couple more failed attempts and a disastrous group performance at my school Annual Day to reinforce my belief that this would be just another unfulfilled dream.

Yet I always had a niggling tendency to tap my feet to a jingle, or nod my head in appreciation of a dance performance which served to remind me of my yearning. And occasionally I would lock myself up in a room, blast music and let go. There are a couple of highly embarrassing web-cam videos captured by my ever-so helpful friends when they happened to catch me in this act; but if there’s one thing college taught me, it’s to let go of my inhibitions in favour of having fun. [not completely, I’m not that crazy yet =) ] To the extent that, now whenever we have a DJ nite or even a college party, I’m one of the first dancers on the floor. That’s not to say that I’ve dramatically turned into grace personified, rather only that I’ve learnt to ignore my potential embarrassment and that has actually helped me look a lot less unfortunate when I’m trying to co-ordinate my motor movements.

Enthusiasm makes up for a lot, really. It led me to work up my courage to join a dance class, salsa at that and actually stick to it despite being reminded of my stiff and ungainly posture and what not ever so often. [Constructive criticism at it’s best!] It has paid off though – the occasional compliment, the sheer joy of a well-executed (passably) sequence of steps, of dancing in tandem with a partner [ even a stranger, maybe that helps, I don’t know], learning something new, no matter how awkward is really great. To top it all off, last class, this fresher told me that he was intimidated dancing with me because apparently I was very good at it. Wow. I hastily reassured him of practice making perfect, but inwardly I gloated. Repeatedly. 😀

